Question from a newbie

Hi, I am new to this illness it started when I was 28 I was diagnosed finally last April at the age of 30 and have yet until last night find a place/venue where I can ask and present question regarding PsA. Others in my life try to be supportive but they don't truly understand where I am coming from, I don't really show much signs of illness so I think that's what is hardest for them. Any way my question is as follows. It seems that I have certain areas of my body that remain almost constantly stiff sore and some time swollen, I have excepted the fact that PsA is in these joints. However every once in a while with no real warring some times new joints begin to hurt and get stiff/sore such as a shoulder or ankle. This will some times last a few days and other times a week or more, then it completely disappears. I am not sure if this normal if this not related to arthritis or just me being paranoid. Thanks for your time.

Hi spirits!

glad you found this place. I like hanging out here as I feel normal, not crazy, when I read other people's posts. Hope you have the same experience. I'm new to this too and am still learning about the disease and about my own experience with it. One of the cool things is reading past blogs and discussions to see what others experience. There's a lot of "yeah me too" on here. What you might think is odd will actually be something others experience---but not everyone. I think the point is that your experience is just that--yours. And learning to trust yourself and your own experience is really important. You aren't crazy or paranoid. You are noticing real things for which you have no explanation. Logic would suggest that he answer might be PsA but somehow you don't feel "qualified" to make that call. You have to start trusting your senses.