Horrible cold

Hi friends. I have a horrible cold. I haven't had a cold in a while, but this one seems much worse than I can remember having. I am just completely drained of all energy. I'm congested and it is difficult to breathe. When I breathe through my mouth, it's a little wheezy. I took Zinc at the first signs, but it didn't help. All I'm taking now is Sudafed (the real stuff, not the "new" sudafed, using Vicks vaporub, etc. I sleep all day and all night.

The worst part of this is that this is my Winter Break; I'm a teacher and we've been on break for the last couple of weeks, but I have to go back to work on Monday. My husband is unemployed, so I have to work. I used up all of my sick days, so I am docked for every day of work I miss.

I am just so frustrated!! And I feel like a total whiner-crybaby to even post this here. I feel like crap, and I was having a flareup even before the cold, so now it's a double whammy. I'm scared that if I don't take care of myself, my cold will go into my lungs (which is what has typically happened) and become a secondary infection.

Sorry to vent....does anyone else ever go through this??

Hugs!!! I hope you're well on your way to feeling better. It must be difficult to be sick on top of having PsA and know you need to go to work, sick or not. I hope you recover quickly!

I don't work outside the home, but I do homeschool my five kids and take care of friends kids as needed. I don't get sick days, unless my husband takes a day off of work. He uses more sick days on ME than on him!

Last spring my son nicely shared his cold with me. He got better with just a bit of a cough. I was still sick quite a bit later, and had a nasty cough. Wound up going to the doctor and being treated with antibiotics, which did clear things up. Not that I'm big on antibiotics. I was worried that it was continuing so long. And now I'm fighting another cold thanks to my daughter. Hopefully this one doesn't go down that road again.