Cymbalta Free!

It took long enough. I have been tapering off of cymbalta for 3 months now, an I finally made it 2 full days without it and without any withdrawal symptoms. I feel so free!

So here are my words of caution. I started Cymbalta to humor the rheumatologist. He just wanted to see if I could get some response from it and use it as a diagnostic for fibro (grrrr). I wish I had read more about it before I started taking it. It didn’t help because I don’t have fibro (Grrrr) and so I asked for samples to taper off. I went from 60 mgx to 30 and 60 alternating. Then down to 30 each day, then down to 30 every other day. After a few weeks of that, I was supposed to stop. But I couldn’t. I could go one day without but could not make it throughout he second day. I got these really weird symptoms that I did not like at all. There’s a name for it, a few actually, but I like SSRI discontinuation syndrome because it’s the longest. Anytime, turned my head, I got these weird eye/ brain flashy things, and had some issues with cognition. It was very uncomfortable, and a little scary. At this point, I had read about discontinuation syndrome and knew here were “normal” but that did not make them suck any less. But today, I finally made it through day 2. The Valium helped tremendously. I asked the doc for something to help me get through day 2 and he gave me a few doses. So. not a single brain zap today that was greater than a 4 on the irritation scale. I’m pretty please with the results.