Wondering About Irritable Bowel Syndrome now

Hi again,

Another day, another question, this time out of pure curiosity :) I am pretty new to the disease and pretty new to this forum as some of you know... But already I have seen three people talking about IBS (including me). I know it is not much, but I haven't met anyone besides me with IBS before so seeing even two other people here is a big deal for me! So I was wondering if IBS was also common with PsA, even though they are essentially really different. One is a functioning problem with no physical cause and the other is an autoimmune disease. But then again, IBS is one of those conditions with "no explanation", so I thought I would give it a shot. Anyone else have Irritable Bowel Syndrome? Because if it is common with PsA, I think I had it coming for eight years!

I think there’s no relation, other than that a certain percentage of the general population will be diagnosed with it, so there will be overlap.

Inflammatory bowel is a different issue.

For years, my bowel issues were said to be irritable bowel. It was never investigated beyond mentioning it to the gastroenterologist who does my colonoscopy every five years. (My Dad had bowel cancer.) Before Enbrel, I had “issues” pretty much every day. Since Enbrel, rarely.
So I wonder whether “irritable” was, in fact, correct. Whatever, I’m good now!

My IBS that lasted a few years stopped a couple years ago. But, since I've been on Enbrel I've had some weird episodes that were quite severe. It seems to happen within a couple days after I've taken Enbrel, but I don't think Enbrel is the cause, it's just a coincidence. Thank God it's only happened four times in 6 months. My dad had celiac disease, and that is an autoimmune disease I think, but I don't think cramps are a symptom of that--just diarrhea.