Physically Demanding Jobs

Hi, everyone! I am curious if anyone else has a highly physical, industrial or construction job or have one prior to diagnosis. I am an Industrial Maintenance Millwright with a Limited Maintenance Electrical license. I walk 4-5 miles everyday, lift 80-100 lbs regularly, climb ladders, pull wrenches daily and need to have a clear head to stay safe. Does anyone relate to this? I have been struggling hard lately and was hoping to connect with someone who might have experience in the trades.

You go Rachael!
Sorry, I wish I could relate but I'm afraid I work as a petty bureaucrat and paper pusher (although it's really mostly electronic paper and not the real stuff anymore). Given how incredibly fatigued I was when first diagnosed I am in awe of your ability to do so much every day. Even now that my disease is pretty well controlled I'm not feeling well regularly walk a couple of miles. My hat is off to you ma'am! Please consider this photo an homage to your ability to "do it" and my ability to cheer from the sidelines (and not just at halloween)!

I have a desk job and I wonder how people with such pain can do physical work. It's hard enough to do desk work when you're not feeling well! At home I've become very lazy--yes, lazy. I don't do near the work around the house I did prior to having PsA--even when I feel fairly well, I'm admitting to being lazy. This is because there's a limit to how much I can do and if I exceed that limit, I feel lousy for days afterwards. I've even neglected my hobbies!

Rachael, it's amazing that you can continue to work so hard! Would it be possible to get a doctor's note to work with temporary restrictions to ease the aches and pains for awhile? I thought you had commented somewhere that you're on a biologic--Enbrel or Humira--but now I'm not sure. I was thinking maybe it would start working better if you could take it easy for a few weeks.