Newbie here from California

So glad to have found this group. I’ve been reading a lot of your previous posts since joining. Such a great group and resource. Brief summary: after a more than a year of fatigue, depression, and aches, I was referred to a rheumatologist. He asked many questions about my medical history, ran tests and X-rays, and diagnosed me with PsA/spondylitis. I was excited to have a diagnosis but initially didn’t realize how severe and challenging PsA is to treat and manage. After some unsuccessful attempts at Sulfasalazine, Mobic and Feldene, I started MTX three weeks ago and I am tolerating it well so far. We were going to go straight to Enbrel next but I have to wait until a new insurance plan starts Jan 1 and it may take a couple of weeks to get it approved so we’re trying MTX because we have the time to. Anyway in the past couple of weeks I’ve started to get joint stiffness in one elbow, AM stiffness in my back, and my wrists are hurting. I try to keep the heat up because cold weather noticeably makes everything worse. Some days are better than others. Trying to stay positive and take care of myself.

Welcome sha, we’re glad you’ve found us too!

It is challenging isn’t it? When I was first trawling the internet trying to find out more about PsA, I found an article about how PsA patients can find all the things they need to do to manage the disease overwhelming. At least I was forewarned! But it does sound as if you have come quite a long way already and I hope that Enbrel takes a big weight off your shoulders, biologics so often lighten the load.

Good to meet you!