Hello to you all

I have been fighting my battle for over 15 years now. Until about a year ago I had never heard of PsA. My physician has been treating me for osteoarthritis for many years. After learning about PsA and having a healthy discussion with my Dr. he referred me to a rheumatologist. I have all the classic symptoms, sore stiff joints, nail ridging and pitting, tight/sore achilles tendons, red swollen painful toes and feet, itchy scalp, but thankfully very little in the way of skin rashes. After some blood work my rheumy started me on methotrexate and folic acid. After three months I am starting to see a change for the better. The pain in some joints has been reduced, while other joints are the same. It seems like the joints that first started bothering me many years ago ( knees, hands and wrists) are responding the least, while more recently acquired pain in my hips and achilles tendons is almost gone. I guess time will tell. My deepest sympathy goes out to you all, especially those in their 20's and 30's who have such a long battle ahead of them.

Welcome, Miner! Pleased to meet you, although it's too bad that you're part of The Club. People here are great, and between us, we have a lot of experience information!

Take care and keep in touch!

Welcome! Happy to hear you're getting some relief - I hope it continues and your other joints improve as well.

My doctors and I think I've had PsA for most of my life. I just turned 37, and in the past year went from living a painful yet active life, to using 2 canes or a wheelchair. I have ankylosing spondylitis as well, and major damage to many joints in my body. I'm taking my fifth dose of Enbrel today, and if my liver ever decides to cooperate, my rheumy wants to put me on high dose mtx as well. It's definitely been a long journey to a diagnosis for me - I'm just relieved to have what seems to be the proper diagnosis and to finally be able to treat it!