Medical leave

My rheumy has taken me out of work. My inflammation markers have been going up for my past 4 appointments. I’m a teacher who travels to two schools daily teaching instrumental music. I have to lug a crate around with all of my teaching supplies and instruments. I have to move furniture out of the way, set up chairs and stands, teach 4 classes, and then pack up, return the room to its prior state, drive to my next site, and do this all over again. I do this full time, five days a week at 10 schools.
My HR person called last week to inquire about my health because I’ve missed 25 days of work since August. When I told her, she was surprised I had mede it so long.
So she suggested I take a medical leave. I have supplemental disability insurance which ps ys me 75% of my gross salary for 2 years.
I’m just curious how many of you have had to go on medical leave or even disability with your PsA? Am I just being a wimp for not Staying at my job? Or is this just my new normal?

I have not personally had to miss any work, but that certainly don't make you a wimp. That's what disability insurance is for. If you need to take off to get healthy then I say by all means, do so.

I have opted to work from home, part time. I will likely not return to full time work, although I may start subbing next year once or twice a week when my younger child is in school full time. That's a really tough schedule that you have. With the disability insurance, this may be enough to either get you through a rough patch, or to the new normal.

Wow - that's great that you have 75% disability. You are very fortunate. Wish I had bought disability insurance. I work for the Federal Government and we don't have short term disability - just permanent long-term and it's not near 75%. I"ve missed a lot of work and I'm working on a financial plan to get me through the year including, teleworking, leave donation program at work, getting advanced leave etc.