Anyone switch careers because of their PsA?

Hi all,

I have been teaching for 17 years and due to the fact that the pace im my position has gotten insane, I feel like I am doing assembly line teaching, I am thinking I may need to switch careers. Things are only getting more rigorous with the new teacher evaluations, and it is not the worry of being evaluated I already am, it is the additional demands now beyond the already nonstop days I have. I am an elementary music teacher and I know that probably sounds pretty easy to some, however they are cutting the arts so those of us fortunate enough to have the senorioty to be spared are now teaching in multiple buildings and I have 600 students a week plus 2 choirs that meet before school at 7:30am two days a week. There is a job open in the county with state retirement and benefits as a social worker for mental/physical disabled adults. The job description seems musch more adaptable to working more at your own pace/scheduling etc. The problem with my job now is my classes are back to back to back and I cant be off my game mentally or physically with a new group of kids every 40 minutes. I can;t even get a bathroom break or take medicine. I realy think I may not be able to stay full time with my disease the way it is. Anyone have a similiar situation and find that it worked out for them?

I am so sorry you are having such a time. My SIL is a special needs teacher and her work load has increased also. It is quite a burden to her and she is healthy. If this new postion is or seems to be easier then you should apply. You may find a job change just the ticket to improve your health.

good luck and job hunting to you :)

Thanks so much....I am going to apply, it doesnt mean I will get it or have to take it...it just may be the right choice in the end.

jot1 said: