Does Psoriasis always itch?

Forgive this possibly silly question, but I am still new to all this.

I was diagnosed with PsA without psoriasis in July. I noticed this morning some nastiness between my toes which looks a lot like psoriasis to me. But, it doesn't itch or bother me at all. I always thought psoriasis was itchy or burned and was generally uncomfortable. These areas are very thick dry patches with an almost yellow appearance. I am currently tapering off Prednisone and have been feeling bad, so it wouldn't surprise me at all if this is actually psoriasis. If it is, I am grateful that it doesn't hurt or itch!

Luckily, I have a rheumatologist appointment on Wednesday, so I will know for sure what it is very soon.

Miz Que

Occasionally, but not always.

I would see a derm about it. Most psoriasis I have seen is white and scaly, sometimes with a red ring around the edge. My psoriasis only hurt or was itchy in the wintertime, and I’ve heard the same from some other folks. I don’t think it’s that unusual.

Skin stuff can be anything. It’s always best to see the dermatologist to confirm, and maybe get some topical meds to help clear it. Good luck! :slight_smile:

Also, there are no “silly questions”. Never be afraid to ask!

I've had plaque P almost my whole life, and it has been itchy only a handful of times. Generally I have thickened skin, which becomes a thick white plaque, which then peels off like a scab leaving raw red behind, which then thickens in a matter of days to a plaque, repeat. My P becomes painful after it peels, and I need to cover it, until some of the plaque builds back up (usually within 1/2 a day). While the plaque is building back up, the plaques look almost flesh colored (my skin is pinkish). More detail than you wanted :)