Wrist replacement surgery

I’m faced with the prospect of wrist surgery to replace the joints in my right wrist, and just wondered if anyone else has had this kind of surgery, did it work, is it worth it etc.

I use my hands a lot - I’m an artist, crafter, writer, blogger, cook (with all that chopping, peeling, stirring etc) and I’m being restricted at the moment as I’m right handed and that’s my worst area for pain and immobility.

The prospect of being out of action for many weeks while the surgery heals is daunting, but if it’s worth it afterwards I guess it’s something I should go ahead with.

Any comments, advice etc?

1 Like

no advice–just sympathy. i had elbow surgery years ago and was stunned by how little I could accomplish with my elbow immobilized (and it was my left elbow and I’m right handed!). Thinking about whether it’s worth it is super smart but i guess you don’t really know the answer to that until it’s all said and done

3 Likes

I think you are wise to make many inquiries and get all the advice you can before such an extensive surgery. Can I ask, is it confirmed that the PsA is the cause of the wrist deterioration?

2 Likes

I have just had left shoulder replaced. Had my right one done 6yrs ago. Totally worth it! My husband had actually started being my sous chef! I’ve had both knees done also, both at same time.

2 Likes