What precautions should I take since the flu is now epidemic, and I'm just beginning Enbrel?

I will begin Enbrel (along with continuing on MTX and Sulindac) this coming week. Due to the fact that the flu virus seems to be especially bad across the country right now, just how compromised will my immune system be? Does the medication take immunity completely down? I'm wondering especially about being in crowded places and contracting the virus and/or an infection. My husband doesn't want me to go to our church, which has a congregation of about 900 in the auditorium at one time, but I think he's overreacting. Is he right?

I go to church every week. I have been on Enbrel since December of 2012. I'm doing fine. I wash my hands constantly...especially at work. Get a regular flu shot too. Just don't shake hands with everyone. Check with your Dr

Hopefully I helped you.. Take care

Karen

Thanks, Karen. I did get the flu shot in the late fall. All the information on Enbrel is a bit scary, though I realize the pharmaceutical company has to include each and every possible potential side effect. I take most of them with a grain of salt, though I did just lose my mother this past April to acute leukemia, so that particular side effect caught my eye, too. I just read the informational booklet that came with my materials last night, and remarked to my husband that on every page I turned the "risk of infections" warning was at the top of each one. I suppose part of the vigilance I need to incorporate is that if someone behind me at church is coughing uncontrollably (and they're never the ones who excuse themselves!) I just need to get up and move. I'm hoping that the advantages of the medication outweigh the risks! Again, thanks for your reply, Karen.

Karen said: