Starting MTX

So today 4/7/14, I will finally be starting my first PSA treatment! I had surgery 1/22/14 so I couldn’t start before because I was on 800 mg of Ibuprofen due to severe swelling. As many of you may know, it is recommended not to take along with Ib. I will be taking Folic 1 mg daily along with 2.5 mg of Methotrexate weekly dose. I will be spacing out the 4 pills in a 24 hr period. The reason I am posting my start up with MTX is to get feedback as I update my progress and side effects if any. I am a newbie here:)
Thank you all in advance for you help with this…

You are doing everything right with a great attitude, you will do fine. Don't be afraid to ask about tweaking your Folic acid. A lot of us have found taking it twice a day really helps......

Thanks! I was a bit worried because I took Folic dose today as well. I read later it is best to take on separate days! I decided not to worry about it as this is my story and will go from there lol…

So how long does it take for MTX to work? I’m on 5 weeks and still feel no relief:(

Report to you Rhuem. There I some leeway with the dosing, so it can be increased if needed. Let them Help you with that. Keep close watch of what you are able to do; your function is the best inductor of whether or not it’s working. If you don’t see any improvement in function and obvious symptoms (swelling and redness at joints)in another 8 weeks with an increased dose, it may be time to switch to a bio.

Thank you, Grumpycat
I was just hoping that after all the side effects I have endured I would see the light at the end of the tunnel sooner than later.

First, I hope your pain level is improving & the MTX is the right stuff for you.