Physically and Emotionally Drained

Hi all this is my first time posting, I have had the official diagnosis of PsA for a year in June but have been dealing with the flare ups for at least 3 years. I so done with this mess, and I am desperate for someone to talk to about this. I have been on mtx for a while now and started embrel once a week in January here is where my problem is coming in, I cannot seem to be able to take more than 3 weeks without getting sick then I am off for 2-3 weeks rinse repeat. It is the same sinus/cold infection that is getting me every time, I am miserable I feel like I am shoveling snow in a blizzard. Honestly I have thought about just stopping the two all together and dealing with the pain but I know that isn't a good option either. It seems like I can't even get a head of the pain because just as soon as the embrel starts to work I get sick and have to get off of it and I am in pain again. Sorry for the long rant, I am just so burnt out by it all.

Hi Soccerchick, welcome to the PsA forum. Sorry you're having such a hard time with the Enbrel. Have you talked to your doc about trying a new med? I tried MTX and it made me too sick and then Humira didn't work and just started Remicade.

We are all here to help and provide support.

warmly,

Frances

P.S. I played soccer for 12 years, travel team, Varsity High School and College.

What would be the more likely culprit in the reason I keep getting sick the enbrel or mtx?

Hi Soccerchick, I'm not knowledgeable enough to answer your question, but there are many people on this forum who are.

The more likely culprit is the MTX, hands down. In the Enbrel drug study for RA, they had one group on placebo, one group on Enbrel, one group on MTX and one group on both MTX and Enbrel. The placebo group had an infection rate of 39%, the Enbrel group had 50%. The MTX and Enbrel and the MTX alone groups had rates of over 80, but the Enbrel with the MTX was actually a bit better than the MTX alone.