Newly diagnosed: currently off work but want to go back

I’ve just been diagnosed with PsA after nearly 18 months of symptoms. I’m being started on Sulfsalazine and being followed up in August. Over the last few months I’ve struggled more than usual and have been signed off work. I had 4 weeks off, went back for a week but didn’t last the Friday and am now signed off until 9 July. I work full time as a legal secretary (37.5 hours). I walk to work (about 1.3 miles) which I enjoy and it’s quicker than getting stuck in Bristol’s traffic. I wasn’t coping well with the pain at work and so couldn’t concentrate, get comfortable so was signed off to try and get the pain under control. At home I’m able to rest, lie down if I need to and only have to think about myself. My PsA is in my fingers, back, knees, toes and ankles.

Work are not putting any pressure on me to go back. I’m just wondering if I should stay home while I start the medication as at the minute the pain is as bad as it was so I’m no “better” than when I was signed off.

Just wondered what others did with regard to work?
Thank you

Hi Lulu, welcome. I’m in the UK too.

My thought would be that if you feel well enough to want to try then you need a phased return to work which may mean just very limited part time hours to start with. Tell your doc you’d like to try/agree something with work and see how it goes. If you find you can’t manage then your doc can sign you off again. You won’t know until you try and just getting some semblance of normality to distract your thoughts will help you through this tricky treatment starting phase. And sulfasalazine can take a while to kick in anyway.

I know how bad Bristol traffic is but cut yourself some slack, take transport for now or maybe walk one way/bus the other if you feel up to it.
:grinning:

Hi Jules