Hello, I'm new to this disease, I lost my wife a year and 3 months ago, she tied tragically leaving behind myself and our 16 year old daughter. I started to develop what I thought was just some eczema and later developed more psoriasis rashes about 3 months after my wife passed away. I have been seeing a dermatologist to keep the symptoms down and it seemed to be helping. almost a year later I noticed that my ankle on my left foot was swelling. I thought I may have hit and bruised it. However it wasn't getting better so I went to my doctors and they did and xray and could not determine what was wrong. Therefore, I decided to do my own research and learned about PsA. I went back to my Dermatologist and she recommended seeing a rheumatologist per my recommendation from research. Funny how that works. So I went to the rheumatologist and after blood work and an exam he determined I have PsA. So currently I am doing a methotrexate treatment orally and haven't experienced any of the horrible side effects but I did read that I shouldn't take any NSAID's or ibuprofren while doing this treatment because it may cause complications. I do take turmeric 1050mg's and started that about 2 months ago for my shoulder because I had shoulder surgery about 8 months ago. I was also given Vol Taren but that's a NSAID and I'm afraid to take it. Any suggestions or advice to this 1sttimer, wouldn't mind hearing from someone.

Welcome to the group! I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your wife.

It sounds as though your doctor is being very conservative with the NSAID issue. It is fairly common for people to take a disease modifying drug such as MTX with an NSAID. If you are using an NDAID round the clock, you should talk to your doctor about also using a PPI such as Prilosec. In addition, if you are not taking a folic acid supplement with the MTX this is also something you should bring up with your doctor.