Mother frustration again

As has all ready been discussed on this site before; frustrations with families understanding our disease. My mother has had difficulty understanding what this disease has meant to my life. She continues to "suggest" exercises, foods, treatments, etc. Unfortunately it tends to be for osteo arthritis or worse just plain scary. I have been a nurse for 38 years and do try to educate myself to the disease and sometimes her suggestions are hurtful. I have tried to tread gentle thinking maybe it was scary for her. Then realized i perhaps have been to gentle and she is missing the point. Yesterday was an "aha" moment for me; she had mailed me a suggestion for an exercise class where she lives, not where I live and it was geared to OA. I am an uncontrolled PsA and have had a real problem with overdoing it. My Rheumy tells me constantly to cool it at leaast until my joints are less inflammed and vulnerable to injury. I decided to take the high road when I called my mother and thank her for thinking of me and gently pointed out it is for OA not PsA. I offered to send her some information so she would know the difference and she said, " no thank you I am really not that interested." Needless to say my jaw fell, I ended the call shortly and politely but have been in a state of shock since then. I really shouldn't be, it truly/saddly is her MO. At least I know where I really stand:-(

Cheerful and stupid, that may be your best bet with your mom. That's a real shame that she can't be supportive, but you can't change her.

I'm new to this website (and I am so happy to have found it) but it sounds like we will have to take over the mothering role for her so do what your doctor says is best for you, read past her advice and don't discuss it any more with her! I have the same problem with my husband! His answer to my pain is "go out an run!"