Skip MTX.....go right to Bios.....?

Yes.....I'm new to this whole new living HELL.....

First rhumey....shame on him.....Second rheumy .....shame on me.....Third rheumy on 4/20....let's just say third time is a charm.....

So he starts me on 10mg/day of Prednisone just to see how I respond to suppressants while the 7 vials of blood get screened for everything but the plague....

6 days in and I get a taste of what it's like to be temporarily almost cured....that is my skin is practically clear, especially the inverse (and you all know where I'm talking about) . The pain and swelling in my hands is only a quarter of what it used to be.....Now here's the kicker....The side effects of the Prednisone are WICKED !!! I could get hired instantly to be one of those zombies on TV....Mornings are brutal.....so hard to get out of bed....I know I can't stay on this.....and I don't want to.....

May 4th will be "Diagnosis Day" .....All test results will be in and we'll discuss long term treatment....So here's the million dollar question:

I'm not interested in waiting 3 to 6 months for MTX to potentially work or NOT WORK.....not to forget to mention organ toxicity and other side effects....

Will it be wrong for me to suggest that we skip MTX and go right to Bios that could potentially work a lot quicker ?....sounds reasonable, right ?

I could use someone's advice here.....Thanks in advance.....

So you're pleased with current rheumy? That's progress!

What you are proposing does sound very reasonable. Here in the UK there are national guidelines re. biologics that stipulate the need to try & fail 2 DMARDs first. So at least that's simple. I gather that in the US it's the insurance companies that demand a similar pathway but there does seem to be a lot more wriggle room. I know of one or two people here who have gone straight onto a bio. I'd say go for it, you can but try.