Remicade / TNF Inhibitors and Liver / Kidney Issues?

Has anyone had any issues with their liver and/or kidneys while on Remicade or other tnf inhibitor? My liver enzymes are even more elevated than before I went on meds (I do not take mtx for that reason) and kidney function is worse. I'm wondering if this could be due to the meds or if my body just doesn't like me.

Dear nym,

So sorry to hear of this. As you know, I have no personal experience with this, so I went over a few pages on the net. There seems to be a mix of answers about this, some sites link it and some medical sites say it is not the med, but the disease. I am not sure if they can differntiate accurately.

In any case, I hope this can be cleared up, have they made a decision on continuing the Remicade?

Hope things can be worked out and that your liver and kidneys can heal without you stopping the treatments.

My best to you,

SK

Enbrel has not been associated with liver or kidney damage. I have no idea about Remicade.

I am so sorry about this.

Liver enzymes can get jacked up for all kinds of reasons including a bout with a virus, even if you are eating liver healthy foods and otherwise taking care of the liver. Most auto-immune sufferers have dysfunction in the liver to begin with.

I'd be drinking dandelion tea, lots of water, and eating those liver healthy foods to help it out. Red Clover Combination is a supplement that is great for liver health as well.

Hugs and blessings.

I take Methotrexate and Enbrel on a weekly basis. About 6 months ago I started showing increases in my liver enzymes. The Rheumy asked if I drink alcohol or have been taking advil, or have been feeling sick. None of the above.....So they suggested watching to see if it was an anomaly or ......so far so good. I have bloodwork this week, so will keep you posted.

I have simple fatty liver, so do have liver issues. However, my elevated liver enzymes due to the simple fatty liver had stayed the same until lately.