New

I'm new to this and the disease. I was diagnosed last week after a year of drs treating the symptoms. my RA guy diagnosed me last week with PsA he told me to take 2400 mg of Ibuprofen for a month and then we woud meet again and he would prescribe meds. I want to know what people have used and what is the most bad side effects.

Initially, many docs will start patients on MTX (aka methotrexate). It is the least expensive, and oldest of the meds used to treat PsA. Side effects can be many with MTX or the other meds classified as DMARDS. You can take a look at our meds page for information on MTX.

The other class of drugs used is biologic meds. (humira, Enbrel, Remicade, Symponi, Cimzia, etc)These are usually administered via injection of infusion, and the most common side effects with these are usually limited to injection site issues like redness, itiching or swelling at the injection site. Many patients treat this with benadryl successfully.

Most docs also prescribe an antiinflammatory like ibuprofen. There are numerous other antiinflammatories to try in case ibuprofen isn't very helpful. Many patients will also take a PPI to help protect the stomach from antiinflammatories. Personally, i take Pepcid, and notice that it really relieves discomfort associated with taking Meloxicam daily.

There will be times that steroids are needed to help keep the PsA under control. Usually these are taken short term. If they have to be taken for a long term, low doses are used. People tollerate steroids differently, but often complain of insomnia, anxiousness, or feeling extreme emotions. Bloating, and nausea are also pretty common, as is weight gain.

Welcome to the community! I am glad you were able to find us and hope that you get situated with a good med plan soon. If you have any other questions, just ask!

has any of these meds helped the rash too?