New to group - help

Hi all,

I’m new to this group and this is my first post. My GP has diagnosed PsA. I am waiting for an appt with rheumatology dept. was supposed to be 18th oct but now put back until 18th Nov. I have widespread pain. Left toes/ball of foot. Both knees, hips but right hip worse, left wrist, right shoulder and ribs. I have been battling for 4 years + for someone to help. I’m 43 and really fed up with pain. It’s affecting my life. I work full time and cope with that but I have no social life… any suggestions as to how to make life better would be very much appreciated :pensive:

2 Likes

Hi there @Freyza131 and welcome! I’m glad that you’re reaching out so early. We’ve got some wonderful people in Great Britain who can help you with some of the logistics of the system there.

Sad to say, your story of having dealt with this for at least a few years isn’t uncommon. I’m one of the lucky few, that when things got suddenly worse, I got a pretty fast diagnosis. The advantage to diagnosis, as I’m sure you’re already aware, is that it means that you will start meds that will help you start feeling better.

One of the big things that we say here is to fear the disease, not the meds. While the first med that you take may or may not be a miracle worker, the risks of the disease outweigh the risk of the meds for the vast majority of people. One thing to realize is that the site is searchable, so if you are looking for information about a specific medication, or specific joint problem, you can search for it.

Glad to have you join us!

1 Like

Good morning @Freyza131 & welcome!