Just trying to figure things out one day at a time

Hello all my name is Mel, I live in Seattle and I am currently a student working on my masters in counseling psychology. I was diagnosed with PsA about a year and a half ago after years of suffering, and doctors not taking me seriously. I ran every day, competed in triathlon, was training for marathon, and was an avid mountain climber. It has been a huge change in my body, and in the activities that I love. It felt so defeating when I had to apply for disability. I have tried many different medications, and complementary therapies, and have have yet to find a lot of relief.

I joined this community because I do not know anyone else that has Psa. I have great friends that try so hard to understand. My husband and I were dating when I was first diagnosed, and he has been incredible in his support for me both physically and emotionally. I find myself wanting to connect with others so that I can hear and learn about other people's experiences.

Hello Mel,
Its great to have people here who understand PsA, its a great comfort to me. I hope you find some relief soon, all I can say is keep trying to find that combo that works for you.
Its good to hear your husband and friends are supportive…we all need a support network when times are tough x

Welcome Mel!

You have come to the right place to make connections. I have found this community to be of great assistance both in emotional support and the wealth of information & experiences shared. I know it is a big adjustment, especially for someone as active as yourself. It is a process. Part of that process is finding effective treatment to best manage our symptoms and curb the progression of this illness. Unfortunately, it takes time to the assess efficacy of each option. The good news is there are multiple options available and new options emerging. So hang in there.