Introduction & Antibiotic Protocol Questions

Hi,

Thanks to all of you for putting your stories out there, it helps so much to be able to hear from other people afflicted with PsA rather than insensitive doctors or misunderstanding friends. Apart from the obvious physical pain the most difficult thing I have encountered is the lack of understanding from others, especially people close to me. I know I am going to get de-sensitized to this as I get more accepting of everything, but the only people I know who can empathize so far are those who also have arthritis or other serious health conditions.

I am 34 and have recently been diagnosed with PsA. I work as an electrician and I so far have grit my teeth and not taken any time off due to this condition and when I have rested it has made no difference to the pain levels.

I currently have no skin condition and have one toenail effected, which I had previously thought was fungal until pathology disproved that.

My symptoms started approximately 3 years ago with unexplained SI joint pain that went undiagnosed until recently.

We had our first baby in May 2011 which coincided with my first "flare Up" a few weeks after. I woke up with a sore swollen toe which turned into a painful flexor tenosynovitis underneath the foot. Then a few weeks after my knee swelled up rapidly and I had a ruptured bakers cyst. A few weeks after that my jaw suddenly hurt one night and has been sore ever since. After doing the rounds with podiatrists, physio, massage & gp's I and lots of pathology testing I finally was diagnosed by a Rheumatologist with PsA.

I have been surviving on Naproxen daily as my only medication, apart from Herbal Anti Inflam, Vit D, Fish Oil, etc.

My Rheumatologist wants to start me on MTX in the new year and I am concerned about the path of toxic medications ahead. I have been on elimination diets and low nightshade diets for a few months, but have not noticed any difference so far.