In so much pain!

Hi everyone, I am new to his and calling from France where I Iive although I am English. I was diagnosed with PSA in 2005 and have been lucky as far as flare ups go then eighteen months ago I was told that the associated spondylitis had begun to ankolyse so had more pain, discs moving etc, having regular physio to help and not been too bad. my first symptoms were in the elbows, tennis and golfers and they have always been a problem, weakness and pain if I did too much but the last couple of days my left arm has hurt from the elbow to the shoulder and tonight I can't bear the pain anymore. I'm not a wimp at all but this is something else! can't move it without screaming, don't know where to put it, am seriously considering chopping it off if I can't get any sleep, is it the tendon damage, has it spread, just don't know but would welcome any iideas on how to cope. I can't take too much medication cos I have a Hiatus Hernia (thank you Methotrexate). My friends are sympathetic but they look at me, perfectly normal, and think I'm exaggerating, they just don't understand. I got told today by an an acquaintance who noticed my arm hanging limply ( the only way I can get relief) that she 'had a touch of arthritis too, but you just have to deal with it don't you!

Yours desperately

Hi Linolly and welcome. Are you being treated by a Rheumatologist? You may want to look into getting the hiatal hernia treated too. They tend to get worse with time. I see you were o mtx. That was probably a good place to start but here in the USA we move our PsA patients to a biologic pretty quickly. The biologics like Enbrel and Humiria are the only things that stop joint destruction and help with the pain but they can take a while to kick in so I would suggest a NSAID, Tylenol and heat and ice in the mean time. I also usually use a splint if I have a particular joint hurting me. I helps to rest it. I also soak in a tub with Epsom salts before bed. It really helps.