Enthesopathy

Hi,

haven't been on this site for a long while. After four months of Humira, it stopped working for me. I had horrible swelling in my feet, and so much in my big toe that my toenail lifted off and had to be removed. I could never get in to see my rheumatologist, even when having what I considered to be an urgent concern, so I switched to the Seattle Arthritis clinic. I was put on Remicade and that worked wonders. I have been receiving infusions for 1 1/2 years (still taking Sulfasalazine)and it has been wonderful...HOWEVER, for more than several months now the tendons at my ischial tuberosities (the bones on our rear-end that we sit upon), my hamstrings, low back and often my calves are hurting so much I can barely stand it. I am still working and exercising, but sometimes it hurts so much on my power walks that I have to repeatedly stop and try and stretch. I am not sleeping well, there is constant throbbing and that deep ache that makes my slightly nauseaus...and some tears now and then. My rheumatologist is having my dose increased (since it is wearing off about two weeks or more before my next scheduled infusion) and my insurance has allowed me to go a week early this time for my infusion.

My usual joints that flare-up are not bothering me too much, but my tendon attachment sites are. I am so exhausted for some reason that I am going to bed early and sleeping in late (when I am not working)...I'm worried and scared and don't know what is going on.,. Does anyone else have these issues?

I’m sorry to hear about this. With the fatigue that you’re describing, it sounds like this is a big flare. Are you sure your biological is still working?

In my experience, once tendons get inflamed it takes them forever to go back to normal. Does the change of time and the approach of winter make the pain or fatigue worse? Are you on any sort of anti-inflammatory?

Hi Sophia,