Working in a School while on a Biologic

I was wondering if any of you work in schools as a teacher or assistant principal or principal and are around kids all day? I'm at central office in our school district, but really miss being on campus with the kids and am applying for an assistant principal position so I can have a more direct positive influence and work with our kiddos. However, once on a biologic, I know my immune system will be somewhat compromised and I'll be more susceptible to colds, etc. Do any of you work with kids and if so, what do you do to avoid getting sick? Education is my life's passion and working with at-risk kids to get them going on the right track is my dream and mission. Besides the folic acid are there any other supplements/vitamins that I should take while on a biologic to keep from getting colds. In schools you're exposed to so much from so many daily! Please advise. Thanks!

Hi! I work in a hospital and interact with patients on a daily basis so I am literally around sick people all the time. I am also on a biologic, enbrel. I havent gotten sick lately but I do try to take precautions. The best thing you can do is wash your hands as much as possible. Wash them all the time! Not only when you go to the bathroom. I also keep anti-bacterial handy at all times and use it after I shake hands or touch something that may have germs, try not to stand too close to those that have a cold or flu, and avoid touching my face (eyes, nose, mouth). A very big one is that I avoid touching anything lots of people do (door knobs, light switches, rails, phones, handles, lunch trays and all the sort). If you have to touch it, like a door knob, use a disposable towel or napkin. I even use the inside of my jacket or scarf if I have too. I totally feel like a major germaphobe but hey its working for me. Kids definitely have less boundaries than adults, so good luck and dont let this illness stop your dream.