So frustrated

I just want to feel good again. In early November I ran a 15k, and I was feeling great. I’ve been on steroids since March and a variety of biologics. Now I’m on Remicade and I’m hoping it will work. I have got to get off these steroids. I’m a first grade teacher, so the risk of getting sick is high. I got sick in the beginning of December, and I think it triggered a flare up. It’s finally subsiding, but I have this terrible nagging pain in my SI joints and hips. It’s restricting my ability to workout which is kind if who I am. My rheumatologist is having me begin a very slow taper of the steroids, and I’m so afraid that I will flare up again. I just am so tired of hurting. I keep telling myself that it will pass, and I will be back to running and working out, because as we all know, PSA is a roller coaster ride that you never wanted to get on. It’s just hard to not get down about it. My husband and I have also been trying to get pregnant, which brings on a whole other set of stressors. I’m so afraid that PSA is going to mess it up. Argh. Sometimes it’s just so much to handle and staying positive seems sooo hard!

Thanks for listening to my vent.

I’m so sorry you are dealing with this at your age. I was undiagnosed at your age and though I could have been better now, less damage if treated, for knowing, I am glad I didn’t know. I just kept plugging and hopeful because I didn’t know I wasn’t getting better.
Now the good news, I had so many good days, there were many stretches of less pain, better alertness.
I am hopeful for you to get some breaks along the way. Pamper yourself and don’t give in to feel like it’s laziness. We have enough trouble than to worry about ignorant people who don’t know how good they have it.

Sybil and Dot,