Newby

Newly diagnosed this year after about two years of random symptoms. My PCP actually diagnosed me then sent me to rheumatology for confirmation. It was confirmed. My rheum said, well it’s not typical PSA but it is psoriatic arthritis. My labs are pretty much ok but the bone pain and joint stiffness are terrible. I have only two lesions of psoriasis at this point but have had the one area on my foot for over 5 years without improvement. My largest lesion is on the left inner sole of my foot the other are in both my ears. The foot hurts like hell, tears and bleeds a lot because of its location as well.

I’m a pediatric nurse practitioner and am on my feet all day. My foot pain is the most difficult to deal with on a daily basis. My pinky toes on both feet now have sausage appearances (which is new and I took pix for my doc). My other pain points are feet, hands, right hip and some just general stiffness in the knees and ankles.

Even though I’m in the medical profession, we don’t get a lot of PSA in pediatrics so my knowledge base isn’t great…though it is improving greatly, as I’m sure anyone with a chronic disease would improve. I also have celiac disease just for fun and giggles.

Was going to start MTX and had way wacky liver enzymes (into the 600’s which is grossly abnormal) and ended up getting a liver biopsy. Went through a ton of testing to find that it was probably elevated due to psoriasis and celiac disease. Because of the elevated enzymes, I can’t do MTX and they just put me on humira. Started on Saturday with first injection. My labs bedsides the LFT’s are fairly normal so I just have to gauge effectiveness with my symptom control, said my rheumy.

We will see how it goes.

Hey there, Colin! I’m sure you don’t get a lot of PsA in pediatrics, but we do have some young members here. One is six (her Mom is the member). We also have a fifteen year old and an eighteen year old.