Newbie here - parent to adult with PsA

Hello everyone,

My 22 year-old son was diagnosed with PsA when he was in high school. It started with bruised and swollen toes. When asked numerous times if he had banged his toes into something, and him confirming he hadn’t done anything, we took him to his pediatrician, who didn’t know what to make of the swollen toes. My son then developed swelling in his left knee, which was quite painful. His pediatrician suggested we take him to Childrens’ Hospital in Los Angeles (CHLA), which we did.

After draining his knee twice (very painful procedure), he was admitted. He had surgery on his knee to drain the knee to prevent infection. While in the hospital, we noticed he had sores on his legs, which were silvery and scaly. We asked every doctor who cam in to see him what the sores were, but no one knew.

My son’s attending physician put him on some serious medications. He had a PIC line inserted into his arm in order to administer these medications. Of course, the meds did nothing to help with his symptoms.

One day, when we were in one of the exam rooms, we saw a poster on the wall of a foot with swollen and bruised toes. The posted showed signs of PsA. None of us had ever heard of PsA before, but we told the doctor that we thought that’s what our son had.

My son then saw the head rheumatologist, who immediately diagnosed my son with PsA. The doctor put my son on methotrexate, which didn’t work. He was then put on Humira, which worked great - no more swelling and pain. After a few years, though, my son aged out of Childrens’ Hospital, and had to see a rheumatologist through the insurance providers. After one of my son’s blood tests, we found out he had a fatty liver, which is a side effect of Humira. We changed his diet, with minimal positive results.