Let's shake things up a bit!

Quoting the venerable tntlamb, on another thread:

Do the beta blockers and Statins sound familiar??? I can’t begin to tell you what nasty meds those two are for PsA patients.

You can’t begin to tell us? Really? C’mon, give it a go …

Statins and beta blockers are meds that a lot of us (and the general population) take. What makes them so nasty for us?

I’m particularly interested in statins: my doctor is trying hard to get me to take them. I’ve recently relented after years of resisting. I’ve just quit my second statin because of intolerable side effects. I take loads of medications, and I rarely have SEs, but oh, these statins …

So what the “special relationship” that we PsA-ers have with these drugs?

Interesting question!! I’m not sure how the relationship fits with PsA, only because I have limited knowledge of that connection.

What I can say though is that I have had trouble with statin side effects in the past, so although I have a supply here of another one to try, I really am reluctant to add it to my current daily “pick’n’mix” bag of meds lol. Needless to say I too would be keen to hear others experiences with them.

Interesting one Seenie. My husband refuses to take statins despite having had a stroke 20 years ago. He just has daily aspirin. I don’t know whether he’s right or wrong.

I wonder if @tntlamb will have something to say, or whether he’s to busy to let himself get started … :thinking:

Well having had a stroke, we spent a lot of time making sure it wasn’t related to Cholesterol levels as the post stroke protocol calls for a pretty heavy dose of statins which is tapered down over time. MOST respond very quickly.

Here is the issue with statins. The most common side effect is Muscle pain and weakness. This effect is often downplayed as either temporary and will pass within a few weeks after stopping the meds. Some docs even say the effect is worth it because of the lower risk of heart attack/stroke.