Is it unusual for my Rheumy to go from seeing me once every 3 months to once ever 2 weeks?

Hi everyone, this is my first post.

I was wondering how concerned I should be with my Rheumy now wanting to see me every two weeks. I was seeing her every 3 months. On my last visit (thursday June 14th) I had an x-ray of my back. I had asked for it because on the middle of my back has started hurting, before this, I just had pain in my neck shoulders and lower back, not the middle of my back. I was Dx with PsA Spondylitis in Nov. 2011 and have had a total of 8 injections of Enbrel.

I'm still pretty new to all this, so I don't know what to make of it.

Joel

well it is a bit unusal to see her every 2 weeks but she probably wants to go over the rays wirh you. I see my rheum every 6 months and have 4month appts 3 month apptsIt just depends on how I feel . I see my GP alot. It helps me cope. Sounds like she is thourough.

Middle back pain if there is no injury is caused by either the upper or lower back (usually) this is most commonly c 6-7 and L4-5. But with spondylitis this could also be the start of some ankylosis of the si. That is the most unlikley, and not necessarily a bad thing. The latest from the surgeons is to put screws in each side to do the same. So the worst is you save
thirty grand. All most everbody gets pain relief from ankylosis, you just want to work on your posture constantly. You want to have a better view of the world than your shoes. If the xrays were negative ( and they all most always are I don't even bother any more) I would guess your doc felt around did some range of motion stuff and such looking for inflamation and didn't find anything significant, thus the two week appointment.