In the beginning

I've just been diagnosed with PsA in the last few days. I had my first serious flare the last two weeks but looking back, I think I've had single joint flares for a couple of years. It wasn't until nearly every joint in my body was screaming out in pain that I realized something was amiss. So I'm new to this whole thing. I don't know what my future is with this. I could never have a flare again (er, I guess..does that happen?) or I could be on a fast road to disability. Who knows.

My flare started on a Sunday. I had pain in the last joint of my index, middle and ring finger of my right hand. It was more annoying than anything else. I'd been doing a lot of weeding in the garden so I didn't think much of it. But within a few days it had involved all the last joints of both hands and feet. So I called a rheumatologist and made an appointment. I had noticed pitting in my nails a few months earlier and knew that was a sign of PsA. I figured I ought to get some info on it. But that's all I figured the appointment would be - just a check in.

By the next Sunday - a week after the first aching in my fingers - every joint in my body was affected. It moved to my wrists and ankles first. Then elbows and knees. Finally shoulders and hips and low back. Ouch. I struggled to care for my 6 month old and 2 year old as my husband left on a business trip that day. Within a few days, things seemed to be returning to normal and I finally got in to the rheumatologist.

What I thought was going to be an informational appointment ending up being a diagnostic one. The doctor confirmed PsA and gave me a prescription for prednisone when I have a flare. She was hopeful I would have a mild case with maybe only a flare every month or two.