How long does a flare last? Do you shake hands?

Hello, 3 week newbie here with questions about flares. First just to add that I was Diagnosed just 3 weeks ago and am to start taking Humira in the next 2 weeks. I've had joint issues for the past 7 years including sacriolitis and my doctor says it was PsA even though I don't have any skin issues. My diagnois came after I returned to the doctor with my finger/toenails seperating and a couple falling off. He questioned me about the swelling in my digits and made diagnosis. It seems just since my nails have started seperating the pain in my hands and feet have gotten much worse. I'm not a "wimpy" person but this pain is pretty bad. My toes and fingers are really red and I generally feel like I have the flu as I feel so dag gone week and tired all the time. At night I have burning in my toes that wakes me up. I'm assumming this is what you guys call a flare? How long will this last? I feel like something is eating away at my hands as I'm a nurse and am having trouble opening medications and doing simple task with my hands. Also what do you do when someone wants to shake your hand and you just know that they are going to cause pain? What do you say? Where I'm from a women doesn't generally shake hands but everyone here seems to think I want them to crush my poor, painful hands. I'm thankful for finding this site as no one really seems to understand how you can look normal and be hurting so bad.