Going back to work

Well it is back to school time and my children will be gone from the house from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. I am wanting to go back to work and was thinking about working with animals either in a shelter or a vet office. I thought this would be a great change since I am an old teacher and do not want to go back to working with children with all of their germs and such. Any other suggestions besides the ones I have came up with would be much helpful.

Rebel Mom good for you! I am glad you are ready to take something else on.

I have been volunteering at places I think I would like to work. After 40 years of nursing and full disability I am not looking for a job I am doing it to feel useful again and to do things I might have enjoyed but did not pursue when I was young nor later when I had a family to support. I went to school at night while working as a nurse during the day in my thirties and got a degree in Literature majoring in Russian Lit and Shakespeare. I ended up pregnant at graduation but the twist was I was 40 and had been unable to have children! So while I do not regret a thing I am volunteering at the library and at the food shelf and I love it. The great thing about volunteering is I can not do it if I am doing poorly but usually I can find something I can do even on a bad day.

I am wondering if this might work for you to try on jobs. I do not know your area but here if they know you they are more likely to open up a job for you sometimes.

Either way good luck with it. I hope you find something you love.

That sounds great ! I would love to do that myself :) I'm sure you'll find something that works into your day and makes you happy.