Argh!

So I have been trying to return to work for a year now. I was an ICU nurse. We only have combined nights and days schedule and my doc and Rheumy have said no nights. So I am currently in a holding pattern. Thank The Lord my employer has a mandatory work accommodation policy. I am currently working some day 8’s in the unit, a few in ER, and some teaching and office work. I am on Remicade every 4 weeks and as each month at the end of the cycle it gets pretty bad. I am torn. My doc wants to cut my hours ( I have gotten up to 8hrs a day 5 days a week). And I want to keep trying. I am unsure of whether it is just wishful thinking. I loved my job and I kills me to have to step away from it but, I want to keep a family life as well. I have two young kids. Sometimes I just want to give up as my coworkers are actually making it very stressful to keep working. Why??? It is not like my brain is defective, just my joints! I have worked in this unit a long while and have lots of certifications and have in fact oriented a lot of these staff members, now it is like I am defective and addled. I am on Avara as well as at least 10 other assorted drugs. When does this get better. I am afraid if I give up working I will not be able to a) afford life b) stay a productive member of the work force.
I guess I am more whining than anything as I am sure you all are facing the same issues. How do you all stay positive and keep moving forward with work life and not throttle people or throw in the towel.

Hey Kirsten, Taking one less shift or going part-time isn't quiting. It could be temporary. You could try a less active position in the same field also.

I, unfortunatly, had to deal with this also. I did landscape/tree work for 10+ years after I was diagnosed. I had to stop. I tried to do apartment maintenence for a couple years and then that became too hard. I haven't worked for a year and it sucks bad!!