Glossary of terms

Has anyone developed a discussion that gives the different terms associated with this disease? I'm new to PsA (there's one) and there are so many abbreviations and concepts to learn. Can anyone do this? For example, NSAID, DMARD, MTX, biologics and so on ...

NSAID: non-steroidal anti inflammatory drugs (ibuprofen, Celebrex, Aleve, etc.)
DMARD: disease modifying anti rheumatic drugs (MTX, Sulfasalazine, etc.)
MTX: methotrexate. (A DMARD)
Biologics: this is used to describe a class of drugs. Really it’s more slang than anything. We use it here to describe the group of drugs like Humira, Remicade, Enbrel, Symponi, etc… They are known as “biologics” because of how they are made.
Biosimilars: this is a term used to describe the generic versions of biologics (not yet available, but are in trials at this time).the term is used because the generic form is not the exact same drug.

PsA: Psoriatic Arthritis

P or Ps: Psoriasis

"Rheumy": Rheumatologist

"Derm": Dermatologist

"Ortho": Orthopedist

Hope that helps! If you have any questions, just ask. I am happy to give assistance.

Oh, and another one that came up recently- OP: original poster

Fabulous idea!!!

PT: Physical Therapy

OT: Occupational Therapy

"spondy"/spondylitis: an inflammation of the vertabrae / arthritis affecting the vertebrae that causes them to fuse together

Also, the five types of Psoriatic Arthritis, according to psoriasis.org:

Symmetric arthritis is much like rheumatoid arthritis but generally milder with less deformity. It usually affects multiple symmetric pairs of joints (occurs in the same joints on both sides of the body) and can be disabling.