Future new career anxiety!

Hi there I am new to this great group, I am 35 and having been living with Psoriatic Arthritis since the age of 15. I have been through barely being able to walk or even pull up a lite weight sheet at night with horrible pain in the past. I went into to remission for awhile but now am on Humira and Arava which are working wonders for me. Anyway I am following my dream of becoming a veterinary tech and been having severe anxiety about my disfigured hands... I know I can do this job but may have to hold things in a different way but my self doubts of what people will think if they notice my deformed fingers is messing with me. I haven't felt this way since I was younger, I thought I was over it. I hate this!!!! An personal advice or anyone working in the field that can share any advice?

I wouldn't even notice, I promise, Mary. And your patients won't mind, being cats and dogs and such. Please don't worry about it!

Thanks!!! It’s nice to hear from PsA people makes me feel better cause no one truly gets what you go through. It’s true no one notices untill I show them. Logically I know my feelings are ridiculous. This is in my own mind I need to work through it. I am trying meditation this week to help me relax. Thanks again! :slight_smile:

As long as you look confident, and you get the job done, no one will even notice your hands. Good luck!