Does this look like sausage finger?

Hi all. I'm new here and not yet diagnosed. However I've had a lot of similar experiences. Started in my heels, with horrible pain. I ended up limping until I saw a podiatrist who fitted me with inserts. Then maybe six months later, I injured my back with a gym ball and my SI joint has been awful since then. Next my spine started getting stiff on a regular basis. Then, my joints got into the act, knees and elbows, and recently my shoulders and fingers.

At any rate, I woke up yesterday to swollen fingers. Not wholly swollen. I've included a picture of my fingers and the swelling. On one other occasion I had a suspected dactylitis episode - after cutting about 30 silk flower stems with a wire cutter, my thumb blew up in size, seized up and was horribly sore. I couldn't move it at all for about a week and needed a cortisone shot to ease it. These swellings don't hurt on my own but the fingers are stiff and sore, as usual.

Does anyone recognize these fingers? Please let me know if this looks familiar to you. I feel like I have mini-sausages or little smokies. ;-)

766-swollenfingersMay212012.jpg (1.26 MB)

those fingers look like they may be inflamed. Get yourself checked out. good luck to you

Hey Petunia,

Your hands look like mine, except mine are worse right now because of a storm and constant rain the past few days. I was just telling 2trees that I was puffed up like a blow fish! Seems this is all part of the curse!

I even have trouble opening and closing a zip lock bag, and yes using those cutters on silk flowers or on real bushes will tear you up! It gets harder to do the things we love, so we have to cherish every little accomplishment!

I have seen other pictures of hands here and they are like ours, so sorry for you!

Hopefully you can get some relief real soon!

SK