One minute you do, the next minute you don't ( have PsA )

Hi everybody..

So I had my second visit with my new rheumatologist today and she is not convinced that I have psoriatic arthritis. She says my nail dystrophy is not enough evidence for psoriasis and since I have not had any more "inverse" issues, she is changing my diagnosis back to inflammatory polyarthropathy.

She upped my methotrexate to 20 mg but changed it to injectable.

So, I don't know if I still belong in this club but I hope I can still hang around.

Have any of you had this experience? What do you call your "condition" ( other that very unfortunate )

I am recovering from my knee replacement, albeit slower that I had hoped. I look forward to getting out of the house more. I am still not up to driving, but my husband is a good chauffeur.

I am pretty new to this, so I can't say that I have experience with any change in Dx. I will say however, that I have had way too much experience with the medical system and that I believe that with any chronic or terminal illness, you should ALWAYS get a second opinion. My aunt went misdiagnosed for 3 years and she had RA. My father and his sister both had very rare diseases and both had difficulty getting the right Dx. Second opinion - it really isn't an insult to your doctor.

The funny thing is…this IS the second opinion. Both doctors agree there is an inflammatory arthritis, I just don’t seem to fit solidly enough in the PsA category for the current doctor who, for insurance purposes, I must currently see.

Well, first of all, you belong here whatever. You're our friend. End of discussion.