Hi, I am new to this disease.my RA is starting me on leflunomide. Can anyone tell me your experiences with this drug? I have plantar faciitis and , bursitis, bad pain in my hands and elbows, no psoriasis just the pain. Also I had pitted finger nails on two fingers for over a year but now its gone Ty for letting me join

Hi hoybabe, and welcome. Idk anything about leflunomide, but I do know about plantar faciitis. I had it when I was around 40 (I'm 61 now). At that time, even though I had moderate psoriasis since my early 20s, nobody mentioned PsA. And, I don't know if it was PsA starting then because off and on through the years before I was diagnosed when I was 55, I did have some weird spells of aches and pains, neck trouble, back trouble, and even heart trouble! Anyway, back to the plantar faciitis...

If you are having trouble getting rid of it, I can tell you how mine went away. My doctor told me to get good, sturdy athletic shoes and wear them 24/7. Yes, I wore shoes to bed at night! I also got orthotics for in my shoes. I took Relafen 500 (I can't remember how many a day) and a p.t. massaged my feet with steroid cream. It's so many years ago I don't remember how long it took before my feet felt better--probably 2 to 3 months. Just wanted to share that with you in case your current treatment isn't helping. :-)

Also, I went on Enbrel 10 months ago and it helped my PsA a lot--especially my hands and shoulders.

Hey there, Hoybabe! Pleased to meet you, and I hope that you will find the support and information that you need here.

Leflunomide is one of the DMARDs that many of us have tried. Like everything else that can be used to treat PsA, it works for some people. If it doesn’t start working in three or four months, you just move on to the next medication. The long time that it takes to respond to medications is one of the frustrations of trying to treat this disease.