Good rheumy? What are the traits to look for in a good rheumatologist?

I am new to this and would like know what others look for in a good rheumatologist? What are good signs ( or big red flags) that they are doing their job? What can I expect at my first visit? I have seen one who did not do anything really and now going to see another, just looking for a little direction because I feel I have already wasted 5 months or more in pain…want to make this visit as efficient as possible. Do they do baseline X-rays/cts?

Different rheumies seem to have different methods. Mine is very hands on, and does x-rays very infrequently. No baseline imaging. Good signs? Same as with all doctors. The rheumy shouldn't be overly reliant on labs, should be hands on, should listen to your concerns. You shouldn't feel rushed, or not heard. I would also ask questions about urgent appointments. For example, my rheumy always has spots open for urgent appointments. If you're having a bad flare, it's much better to be able to see your own doctor than to have to go to Urgent care or the ER.

I wish you luck with this.

Wondering, your first appointment will go better if you have a solid understanding of this disease. I recommend a book under BOOK REVIEWS. The electronic version is a bargain, and if you don’t have a Kindle, you can get software for your pc or tablet that will allow you to be reading the book in just a few minutes. Asking good questions will make your rheumie sit up and take notice!

Make a list of questions! And if you have any pictures of intermittent symptoms like swollen joints, bring those too.