Afraid of biologics

I am scared to death to start Humira. I’ve filled out all their forms for discounts and what not but haven’t been able to pull the plug and place an order.

Sulfasalizine is working ok but rheumatologist thinks i could be better so she suggested Humira.

My question is has anyone tried cats claw? I’ve read it works like a TNF blocker?

Hi @Vettegirl! I haven’t tried cat’s claw. But from what I’ve read, the studies that were cited were fairly short term. My impression is that it might have anti-inflammatory effects, but that doesn’t mean that it will impact joint damage.

The biologics are targeted, and most people do very well on them. I’ve been using Enbrel for (I think) 5 years now, with no problems from it. I’ve had improvement from my baseline, and it’s still doing well enough that there’s not a good reason to consider switching. Biologics are proven, over the long term, to slow joint damage. I don’t know that I would want to try something like cat’s claw. I could see using alternative medicine, herbs, etc, to support my system, but not in place of meds that are proven to work.

2 Likes

Time was I would have run a mile rather than take ‘big drugs’. Humira, however, has been no trouble whatsoever & has helped me tremendously.

I’ve heard it said that taking anti-inflammatories for PsA is like throwing a bucket of water at a forest fire. Worth doing is nothing else is available but … PsA is a potentially destructive, disabling disease and it is progressive. The biologics have changed the game to such an extent that there probably aren’t nearly as many scary PsA damage photos on the internet as there were 10 years ago. I hated those photos but at least they were a wake up call.

If cat’s claw is safe, then you might as well take it. But it won’t tackle the disease head on. My view is that whatever you decide, you should do so with your eyes wide open, so we just have to tell it as we see it.