Has anyone used Vocational Rehabilitation Services

Well, here's the deal, I need a job, I can't qualify for disability so I want to see if I can be retrained for something I can do. I am wondering if any of you have used this resource and what your experience was.

I used it years ago. I was a waitress and broke my ankle tearing all the ligaments loose. I could no longer waitress. A friend told me about Vocational Rehabilitation. I went in and applied for the program. They sent me to a Dr that confirmed that I could no longer do the job I was doing. They talked with me and helped me choose what I would like to be trained to do. They paid for all of the schooling, books and mileage to get to school. No one at the school knew that I was anything other than another student. After I graduated the school helped me find a job. I have been working in an office ever since. It worked great for me. I would recommend it to anyone who qualifies.

I was given several options after discussing what my experiences and previous training were. I chose medical receptionist. I worked as one for a short time, then ended up in a regular office as a bookkeeper (I learned bookkeeping during the med rec training). Then a few years later took a job as an office manager and now, 20 years later I am CEO of the company. It's amazing what a little training can lead to.

Good luck.

mimiB said:

Oh, that's great to know ! What type of schooling did you do ?

ceo wow thats awesome. I have always wanted to get into finance, the stock market fascinates me. I wonder if a 38 yr old could be taught accounting?

Of course you could learn accounting at 38. I just got my drafting and design degree and I’m 56.