GoMindfully's story

About four years prior to this post, I started having morning stiffness. I have been involved in the sport of Judo for many years and believed it was probably just being soar from all the throws. I went to see my PCP/GP and he said, "ahh, you just turned 40 and that is part of getting old".

I had a few episodes of my vision going black and fuzzy. Then some problems gripping objects. Then some fogginess. I was sent to a neurologist who said "your nervous system is way out of whack - you are hyper-reflexive and all over the place - definite long tract nerve damage". He ordered MRI's, blood work, CT scans (and I found out the hard way that I am allergic to CT scan dye/iodine). All my test were negative. He sent me to a psychologist - which was ironic as I am a psychologist. The only thing good to come out of that mess was to find out that I, like my son had Aspergers (if you don't know what that is - it just means I am smart and strange. :) ). Not coming up with a physical cause to anything - I believed it was all Judo injuries and maybe some OA.

I then had (what to me was) the strangest course. I would have months where I felt great and could run up steps, etc. I even competed in early 2012 in a National Judo Tournament at the age of 43. I was cured! Well, at least until summer. Then when the hot weather hit in the Midwest, I started having back pain, and whole body stiffness. The rare moments when I would work out, I felt very itchy, especially my back legs and ankles. I slept much and my wife alternated between being mad and concerned. She thought I was either depressed, not liking my job (because Sundays were a big sleeper day). She thought at times I was trying to get out of mowing or housework. I then seen a string of doctors and a chiropractor. All of these people were impressed with my youthful looks and muscles, saying things like "you look healthy to me".