Financial assistance

I am currently a college student and have troubles walking to classes daily because of my psa. I wwnt to get a bike but can’t keep handle the stress it puts on my joints. I found bikes with pedal assist that have electric power to help you. These can be fairly expensive though. Anyone know any grants or programs that would possibly help pay for such a thing to benefit my health?

Does your college have disability services? Maybe they would know
if something like this is available in your area

Definitely contact disability services. It sounds like you are in that middle ground of needing some assistance, but not so much that you would consider an electric scooter.

Although, now I'm thinking. . . . If you're in that middle ground and not needing tons of assistance, what about a motorized scooter, something like this even - http://www.razor.com/products/electric-scooters/e300s/ You might not feel so self-conscious this way either. I looked and found it at Walmart for about $250, which is a lot more manageable than the bike would be. . .http://www.walmart.com/ip/Razor-E300S-Seated-Electric-Scooter-Multiple-Colors/12346982

Just wanted to throw out an alternate idea, that would accomplish the same.

Thanks for the suggestions! I will be talking to disability services soon as I want to see if I can get some assistance with my classes too because taking notes with my arthritis is so hard! When my wrists and fingers are in pain it can be hard to keep up with the teachers. I found these bikes http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com/shop/step-thru-cruiser-light-blue-with-light-blue-rims/ which as you can see are very expensive but my family is considering investing because I will not stand out among other college students with it as they are all riding bicycles too. It may just be my next few years of christmas gifts and I will have to work hard to help pay it.

Stoney said: